Leadership of FFPS

Promoting research in sustainable forest management and environment-friendly processing and utilization of tropical forest products

Current Executive Committee of FFPS

Prof. S. O. Akindele President - Prof. S. O. Akindele

Shadrach Akindele is a Professor of Forest Biometrics and Inventory in the Department of Forestry and Wood Technology, Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria. He is a Fellow of the Forestry Association of Nigeria (FAN) and a Fellow of the FFPS. He has well over 30 years of University teaching and research experience, and has supervised many students, some of who are now Professors. Prof. Akindele has served as Consultant on many forestry and environmental projects funded by the World Bank, the African Development Bank, the Federal Government of Nigeria, etc. Between 2018 and 2019, he was the FAO Consultant on National Forest Inventory project. Prof. Akindele has also served as Visiting Professor of Forest Measurements at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada and the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada.


Associate Prof. E. A. Emerhi Vice President I - Associate Prof. E. A. Emerhi

Emuobonuvie Emerhi is an Associate Professor in the Department of Agronomy, Wildlife and Forestry, Delta State University, Asaba Campus, Nigeria. Her areas of specialization include Wood Science, Environmental Impact Assessment, Environmental and Social Framework, Monitoring and Evaluation, Waste Management, and Climate Adaptation and Mitigation. She is a Consultant of repute in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria, and has vast experience in mangrove and coastal ecosystems. She was the pioneer Vice President of FFPS.


Dr. S. B. Shamaki Vice President II - Dr. S. B. Shamaki

Sanusi Shamaki is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Forestry and Environment, UsmanuDanfodiyo University, Sokoto, Nigeria. He is the current Ag. Head of Department. His area of specialization is Forest Biometrics and Inventory.







Prof. Jonathan C. Onyekwelu General Secretary - Prof. Jonathan C. Onyekwelu

Prof. D. O. Oke Financial Secretary/Treasurer - Prof. D. O. Oke

David Olanrewaju Oke is a Professor of Agroforestry at the Department of Forestry and Wood Technlogy, Federal University of Technology, Akure. He has spent the last three decades in teaching, research and community service. Starting from the position of Graduate Assistant in 1991, he rose through the ranks to become a Professor in 2012. He has made significant contributions to teaching, capacity building, scientific research and development in the areas of forestry and agroforestry. He has taught several courses in the area of forestry, agroforestry, remote sensing, ecology, silviculture, tree nutrition and forest soil management. He has supervised and co-supervised several Master and Ph.D degree students. Professor Oke has held several administrative and quasi-administrative positions in the University. His research interest is in the area of tree-soil-crop interactions in agroforestry; carbon and nutrient cycling in forest ecosystems and impacts of tree/plantation crop combinations on the environment. He is widely published in reputable journals and other academic literature. He is happily married and blessed with children.


Immediate Past President - Prof. J.A. Fuwape
Prof. J.A. Fuwape








Working Group Coordinators

Working Group Coordinator Address
Forest Measurements Prof. Samuel Ajayi Department of Forestry and Wildlife Management, Cross River University of Technology, Obubra, Nigeria.
Forest Policy, Economics and Management Prof. Abubakar G. Bello Department of Forestry and Environment, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Nigeria.
Forest Ecology, Agroforestry and Silviculture Dr. Opeyemi Olajide Department of Forestry and Wildlife, University of Uyo, Uyo, Nigeria.
Wood Science and Technology Prof. Oluwafemi Oluwadare Department of Forest Production and Products, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria.


List of Fellows of FFPS

  1. Prof E. B. Lucas
  2. Prof S. K. Adeyoju
  3. HRH Prof L. C. Nwoboshi
  4. Prof J. A. Fuwape
  5. Prof S. O. Akindele
  6. Prof. Samuel Oluwalana